Zima on today


IT IS a big day for local entertainers as some will be rewarded in the Zimbabwe Music Awards at a ceremony set for the Country Club in Newlands tonight.
Creatives will battle for gongs in 32 categories and bragging rights are at stake.
Organisers have described this year’s edition as business unusual saying they are introducing something new on the awards scene.
Competition is high in categories such as the Song of the Year which will be decided by a public vote via the Econet short code platform.
Voting will close today at 3pm with singers already mobilising their fans to vote for them.
The race features the song Kure by Ishan and Ti Gonzi, MuGarden by Winky D and Gemma Griffiths, Ngaibake by Freeman and Alick Macheso, Reurura by Seh Calaz and Mambo Dhuterere and Sadza neMuriwo by Jah Prayzah.
Kure, MuGarden and Ngaibake are also in the running for the best collaboration category.
Another category of note is the Best Female Artiste of the Year which features Tammy Moyo, Shasha, Ammara Brown, Gemma Griffiths and Janet Manyowa.
The male’s category — which has been dubbed a repetition of Zim Hip-Hop Awards — features Takura, Asaph, Ti Gonzi, Ishan and Freeman.
Another interesting race will be the best new comer which features Mambo Dhuterere, Joyfull Praise, Garry Mapanzure and Ishan.
No doubt, Mambo Dhuterere has had a huge impact on the local music scene and deserves recognition, not taking anything away from others. Joyfull Praise also makes a strong case after their chart-topping Ngoro Yeminana.
The Album of the Year category features King 98’s Francesca, Shasha with Mutare, Baba Harare with Ramba Wakadzvanya and Freeman’s Gango.
This is another category that has triggered debate on social media with some questioning the nominees.

Comments are closed.