Race for Zima song of the year heats up


THE race for the Zimbabwe Music Awards (Zima) Song of the Year is officially open with people voting through mobile network company Econet, a development which the organisers said brings credibility to the competition.
The category features Kure by Ishan and Ti Gonzi, MuGarden by Winky D and Gemma Griffiths, Ngaibake by Freeman and Alick Macheso, Reurura by Seh Calaz and Mambo Dhuterere and Sadza neMuriwo by Jah Prayzah.
Zima spokesperson Benjamin Nyandoro said voting will be closed on Saturday at 3pm ahead of the awards ceremony set for the evening at the Newlands Country Club.
It will now be a game of numbers among the singers with the one commanding huge followers and voters likely to walk away with the gong.
Winky D boasts of a huge following as witnessed by his December 31 album launch which drew multitudes and if they all translate into the votes he will be in a superior position.
Jah Prayzah on the other hand is one singer who commands a huge following at his shows and his social media pages and if they vote for him he will scoop the gong.
Freeman and Macheso are two singers who changed the game with their duet Ngaibake and they both command a huge fan base.
Macheso is arguably the biggest sungura singer while Freeman is among the best names in dancehall circles. They both have the capacity to push their followers into voting for them.
Ishan and Ti Gonzi delivered one of the most popular songs for 2019 which was loved by many judging by their reviews on social media.
It, however, remains to be seen if those people will translate their support into votes.
Mambo Dhuterere and Seh Calaz gate-crashed the race following Mambo Dhuterere’s rise to fame.
Without taking anything away from all the songs in the running, this category will certainly be determined by numbers through the Econet platform.
<span class=”mce_SELRES_start” style=”width: 0px; line-height: 0; overflow: hidden; display: inline-block;” data-mce-type=”bookmark”></span>

Comments are closed.