Its North v South as Sables trials begin


HARARE – The National Rugby League takes a break this weekend to pave way for national trials at Old Hararians Sports Club tomorrow.

Two select side sides from the northern region will do battle against two teams form the southern part of the country.

The Northern “Blue” side will be coached by former Zimbabwe front rower Bright Chivandire while ex-Sables fylhalf and Old Georgians coach Grant Mitchell will be in charge of North “Green.”

The trials will culminate in the selection of a national squad for this year’s international commitments.

Highlight of the Sables’ calendar this year is the defence of their African rugby title in Madagascar in July.

Brendan Dawson’s men must avoid a disastrous campaign in Madagascar to keep their 2015 World Cup hopes alive. The Sables will play the hosts in the first match of the African Zone Group 1A event, with the winner taking on the winner between Kenya and Uganda in the final.

The Sables need to stay in Group 1A until 2014 to be able to keep their World Cup hopes intact.

The Zimbabweans were initially scheduled to open their 2013 season with a home test against Belgium on June 1, but the European third-tier side cancelled its visit due to financial constraints.

Zimbabwe will now open with a tour of South Africa, where they will play Valke in Johannesburg on June 12 before squaring off with Pumas in Nelspruit two days later.  

Meanwhile, following the North versus South trials, teams will be narrowed down to two, the Possibles and the Probables.


Green Team: Jakov Jakov,Tolerance Zishe ,Simba Mandioma, Chiliboy Nhepera, Zvikomborero  Muringari, Fortunate Chipendo, Rees Surtees,Tafadzwa Bepure, Antipas Kamwendo, Tawanda Chowe, Jacque Letaio, Costa Dinha, Andrew Rose, Phil Machisa, Boyd Rous, Tawanda Shoniwa, Gavin Nyawata, Simbarashe Chirimuta, Tatas Mutataguta, Shayne Makombe, Lungile Tshuma, Steven Hunduza.

Blue Team: Kudawashe Murwira, Raymond Dzvairo, Kudakwashe Kambasha, Pieter Joubert, Jonathan Goosen, Ashley Mabhena, Kundai Hatendi,Tinashe Bopoto, Farai Jitita,Sean Chigumbra, Shingi Mpofu, Scott Flowers, Tichafara Makwanya, Ryan Sprake, Teddy Hwata, Kudakwashe Chiwanza, Daniel Hondo, Leeroy  Mashiri, Gardner Nechironga, Tangai  Nemadire, Mclean Muhambi. – Brian Matamba

Comments are closed.