47 top police officers transferred

NEARLY 50 police officers from the rank of inspector and above have been transferred to different stations across the country in a move aimed at improving efficiency in the police service.

Communication from the police general headquarters (PGHQ) human resources department issued out on Friday to different stations, showed that 47 officers, including inspectors, chief inspectors, superintendents, chief superintendents, assistant commissioners and commissioners were transferred.

“Officers commanding provinces who are receiving transferred officers are encouraged to facilitate their smooth transportation. Officers should commence preparations for departure and are expected to report to their new stations no later than July 16, 2021,” the document said.

Harare will get 10 inspectors and one superintendent, all being deployed to Mbare, Harare Central, Kuwadzana and Mabvuku stations.

Five inspectors and two superintendents have also been deployed to police stations across Manicaland, while Bulawayo and Matabeleland North will get two assistant commissioners and two superintendents each.