2017 Ansa nominees revealed


HARARE – Zimbabwe’s leading karateka Samson Muripo is in line to win this year’s Sports Person of the Year Award after being shortlisted for the Annual National Sports Awards (Ansa) yesterday.

Having been overlooked in recent years despite his exploits, Muripo could be finally rewarded in a year he was crowned world champion at the 3rd International So-Kyokushin Karate Tournament in Ahvaz, Iran in February.

Muripo will face competition from the likes of bodybuilder Helen Sinclair as well as athlete Rutendo Nyahora

Karateka – Samson Muripo

However, CAPS United were a surprise omission on this year’s Annual National Sports Awards (Ansa) shortlist for the Team of the Y

Not even their coach Lloyd Chitembwe was included on the shortlist despite guiding the Green Machine to the African Champions League group stages for the first time in the team’s history.

Makepekepe surprised many as they dumped five-time African champions TP Mazembe of DR Congo on away goals rule to reach the group stage.


In the group stages, Makepekepe were drawn in a tough pool together with Egyptian giants Zamelek, Libya’s Al-Ahli Tripoli and Algerian side USM Alger.

They however, finished the competition bottom of the group with six points following two home wins against Zamalek and USM Alger.

The Zambezi Cheetahs are in the running for the team of the year where they will compete against the Zimbabwe cricket team as well as rowing pair of Kenneth Raynor and Keegan Smith.


Junior Sports Woman of the Year: Holly Bicknell (Rowing), Emily Jones (Golf), Tanya Muzinda (Motocross)

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Chengetai Mapaya (Athletics), Terrence O’Hara (Swimming), Mehluli Sibanda (Tennis)

Junior Sports Woman of the Year with disability: Pelagia Chidhakwa (Athletics), Elizabeth Matupe (Athletics), Siphosami Moyo (Athletics),

Junior Sportsman of the Year with disability: Munorwa Changakungwa (Athletics), Raymond Nyati (Athletics)

Sports Woman of the Year: Helen Sinclair (Bodybuilding), Selina Manuel (Bodybuilding), Rutendo Nyahora (Athletics)

Sports Man of the Year: Brian Chiringa (Karate), Nyasha Machaza (Golf), Samson Muripo (Karate)

Sports Woman of the Year with disability: Magret Bangajena (Wheelchair racing), Thandiwe Ndlovu (Wheelchair), Ratidzo Tomu (Wheelchair racing)

Sports Man of the Year with disability: Elford Moyo (Wheelchair racing), Michael Mudyanadzo (Gold Special Olympics) Samson Muroyiwa (Wheelchair racing)

Team of the Year: Zimbabwe Cricket Team (Cricket), Zimbabwe Rugby Sevens (Rugby), Kenneth Raynor and Keegan Smith (Rowing)

Coach of the Year: Kristine Johnson (Rowing), Gilbert Nyamutsamba (Rugby), Heath Streak (Cricket)

Technical official of the Year: Agnes Chiroodza (Netball), Annie Muchenu (Basketball), Patrick Mukondiwa (Boxing)

Sports Administrator of the Year: TBA

Sports development of the Year: TBA

Women and Sports Award: TBA

Special Acknowledgement Award: TBA

Junior Sports Person of the Year: TBA

Sports Person of the Year: TBA


Comments are closed.