Nyau groups top Chibuku winners


HARARE – Nyau group Bheni Arinoti from Redwing Mine in Mutare won Chibuku Neshamwari Traditional Dance Manicaland provincial finals while Sekunjalo MaAfrica were crowned Bulawayo province winners on Saturday.

The Manicaland provincials were held at Vhengere Stadium in Rusape, while Habane Bar in Esigodini hosted Bulawayo finals.

Bheni Arinoti won ahead of Watyamhembwe, Machena Traditional Dance, Mansa, Echoes, Maungwe Traditional Group, Usatya Traditional Dance Group, Charurwa, Mutare Polytechnic and Gure Wamkulu (Mutasa Nyau Dance).

In Bulawayo, Sekunjalo MaAfrica were crowned the winners after outshining Khaya Arts, Imvimbi Arts, Ingwenyama Arts, Woza Africa Per Arts, Iluba le Mvelo, Abangane, Jaiva Traditional Group, Thandanani Women Ensemble and Bambanani.

The winning groups walked away with $500 each and a ticket to compete in the national competitions scheduled for July 30 at Bulawayo’s White City stadium.

Since the annual festival kicked off in Harare last month, so far five provinces had successfully hosted the event and Nyau dancers have won in three provinces.

Maramuro Agure (Malawi Nyau) and Kalawi Gure (Zambia Nyau) won in Harare and Mashonaland Central province respectively.

Pezhuba Pachena who showcased Msubhule dance won in Matabeleland North province recently at an event held at Kulya Bar in Binga.

National winners will pocket $4 000 while $3 000 and $2 000 will be for first and second runners-up.

Last year, the national competition was held in Bulawayo and Mashonaland East’s Makarekare Traditional Dance Troop were the winners while in 2014 Ngoma Dzepasi a dance group from the same province won the competition.  Founded in 1963, Chibuku Neshamwari Traditional Dance festival is a tripartite partnership between sponsors, Delta Beverages, the National Arts Council and the Zimbabwe National Traditional Dance Association.

Comments are closed.