Haz names U21 ladies WC squad


HARARE – The Hockey Association of Zimbabwe (Haz) has named a 32-member U21 ladies training squad ahead of the Women’s Junior Hockey World Cup scheduled for Santiago, Chile in November.

The locals booked a place in the junior women’s hockey global showcase in March after beating hosts Namibia 2-1 in the semi-finals of the African qualifiers although they went on to lose the final to South Africa.


Zimbabwe last participated in these games in 2005, ironically in Santiago.

The team has a fine balance of 17 locally-based players and the rest coming from abroad.

Haz president Humphrey Chigwedere said of the team will be trimmed down to 18 by the time the World Cup approaches.

“The final team of 18 travelling and five non-travelling reserves will be announced after further assessments of players during and after the proposed training camp which is set to run from June 16 to19 in Harare,” Chigwedere said in a statement.

“The team consists of 17 locally-based players whilst the rest are foreign-based doing their studies in countries such as Australia, Britain, South Africa and the United States of America.”

The technical team during the qualification in Namibia led by head coach and former Golden Girl Trish Davies and her assistant Tendayi Maredza have also been retained.

Zimbabwe U21 Ladies Hockey training squad: Lauren Dent (England), Jordyn Clipstone (USA), Androniki Hiripis (Chelsea Drifters) Stephanie Campbell (SA), Michelle Kabaira (Lions), Simone Marchussen (Peterhouse), Cheryl Dzapasi (Chisipite), Aimee Nativel (SA), Kelly Diplock (Gateway), Jessica Dollar (SA), Stephanie Mauchaza (Scorpions), Erin Gray (Carguards), Tinayeishe Elijah (Lions), Tyler Groenwald (SA), Megan Shaxson (Peterhouse), Amber Hinze (Peterhouse), Kaleigh Graham (SA), Tyler Silk (SA), Carla Van Oudtshoorn (SA), Estelle Stambolie (Eng), Sinead Cockroft (Aus), Chelsea Dollar (SA), Kendal Revolta (Chelsea Drifters), Simone Herbst (Chisipite), Gugulethu Ndlovu (BAC), Joana Munengwa (Rising Stars), Sophie McDonald (SA), Shannon Hart (USA), Chiedza Chitseyo (UZ), Fariyah Shah (USA), Mufaro Mazambani (Chisipite), Amy Brooke (Chelsea Drifters).


Comments are closed.