Ervine, Maruma bounce back


HARARE – Batsmen Craig Ervine and Timycen Maruma have been included in the final squad for the home series against India which starts at Harare Sports Club from June 11 to 22.

Zimbabwe named an 18-member squad for both the three ODIs and three T20  Internationals with seamer Tinashe Payangara and all-rounder Luke Jongwe being notable absentees.


Left-hander, Ervine was a surprise omission from the World T20 squad in India earlier this year.

Ervine had been in good form in the build up to the tournament but selectors decided to drop him after he had an indifferent display in the domestic T20 tournament that served as the final selection phase.

The Matabeleland Tuskers player who is also a useful left-arm spinner had last played for the national team in an ODI against Bangladesh in Sharjah last year.

He finished as the side’s top scorer in that match with 73 runs from 98 deliveries as Zimbabwe suffered a four-wicket defeat to the rising Associate side.

Also making a return is Manicaland Mountaineers top-order batsman Maruma, who last represented Zimbabwe two years ago.

Maruma’s last appearance for the national team was against Bangladesh in Mirpur when  Zimbabwe lost by five wickets.

On that day, the right-handed batsman struggled on as he scored one run from nine deliveries.

Just days before India’s arrival, the Zimbabwe Cricket board made changes in the technical department where they axed head coach Dav Whatmore and elevated his assistant Makhaya Ntini to the hot seat on an interim.

Former South African batsman Lance Klusener was also roped in to beef the technical department on a two-year batting coach contract.


Batsman Hamilton Masakadza was also demoted from captaining the team in all the three formats and his deputy Graeme Cremer takes over the reins on interim basis.

Zimbabwe ODI and T20 Squads: Graeme Cremer (Captain), Richmond Mutumbami (Wicketkeeper), Taurai Muzarabani, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Peter Joseph Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Tawanda Mupariwa, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza Butt, Neville Madziwa, Donald Tiripano, Timycen Maruma, Wellington Masakadza, Tendai Chisoro, Hamilton Masakadza, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine.

Comments are closed.