Triathlon coach relishes award night


HARARE – Triathlon Zimbabwe (TZ) coach Wayne Davidson has played down his chances of landing the coach of the year gong at the Ansa Awards Ceremony to be held at a local hotel Wednesday evening.

Davidson is shortlisted together with Zimbabwe rowing coach Rachel Davies and Warriors gaffer Ian Gorowa for the award.

Despite having an edge over his counterparts considering the milestone of achievements TZ garnered in the year under review, Davidson maintains that it is an honour to be on the same wavelength with his two other competitors.

“It's a massive honour just to be mentioned alongside the two great coaches, I know Rachel personally and have huge respect for her work in getting rowing athletes to the top level,” Davidson told the Daily News yesterday.

“I worked with Rachel and know the personal sacrifice she has made to earn success and also know how passionate Zimbabweans are about soccer and the hugely competitive environment that football exists in so am really just happy to be in the same room as those two.”

Zimbabwean leading triathlete Laurelle Brown finished her junior career in style defending her national championship title in March. In May, Brown defended her continental gold medal for the third consecutive time in Agadir, Morocco, to qualify for the London World Championships.

Brown got her first African championships gold in Maputo, Mozambique, in 2011 and last year she guarded her jewel in Lermorne, Mauritius and has also been shortlisted on the junior sportswoman of the year award.

“She (Brown) is such an amazing athlete with a huge work ethic. Her successes give us all the confidence to continue with the development practices we believe in,” added Davidson.

“She has certainly filled the gap left when Chris Felgate retired. Sadly she is now at University in the UK so she won't make it for the awards night.”

Apart from Brown, Gabrielle De Chassart and Cameryn Davidson won gold and silver medals respectively in the Under- 15 girls’ category in Agadir.

De Chassart was on the podium again, taking gold at the South African Championships while Skye Davidson and Serena Rendell took silver and bronze respectively in the Under-17 girls’ race in South Africa.


Coach of the Year: Ian Gorowa, Rachel Davies, Wayne Davidson Junior Sports Woman of the Year: Laurelle Brown (triathlon), Nicole Dzenga (tennis), Ruvarashe Mzinde.

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Faber Murray Lauchlan (rowing), Michael Songore (athletics), Peter Purcell Gilpin (rowing).

Junior Sports Woman of the Year with a Disability: Brian Mafuvise (wheelchair tennis), Emmanuel Musara (T13 Athletics), Shepherd Banda (wheelchair tennis).

Junior Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Daniel Nyuke (wheelchair basketball), Edmund Makutya (wheelchair racing), Elford Moyo (wheelchair racing).

Technical Official of the Year: Ginny Ross (hockey), Joyce Muchenu (basketball), Rick Fulton (triathlon).

Sports Administrator of the Year: Triathlon Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe Karate Union, Zimbabwe Ladies Golf Union.

Sports Development of the Year: National BMX Association of Zimbabwe, National Darts Association of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe Netball Association.

Women in Sport Award: Eugenia Chidhakwa, Olivia Mguni.

Comments are closed.