Mujuru mauls Mnangagwa


HARARE – Vice president Joice Mujuru’s camp romped to an emphatic victory over the weekend, crushing their rivals in the Zanu PF provincial polls.

The vote was blighted with violence, voter registration irregularities and logistical challenges.

Announcing the results at the party headquarters yesterday, Simon Khaya Moyo, the Zanu PF chairperson, said the results were not final as they awaited confirmation and endorsement by the politburo.

“I am aware that some inconveniences could have been caused by inadequate provision of transport, late arrival of ballot papers and inaccuracies in some registers,” Khaya Moyo said.

“Corrective measures were promptly taken where applicable,” he told a press briefing also attended by Didymus Mutasa, secretary for administration, Webster Shamu, secretary for commissariat and Oppah Muchinguri, secretary for the Women’s League.

Reports that reached the Daily News last night suggest that in Masvingo, Bikita and Gutu, there were violent clashes as people protested their failure to vote.

From the results presented so far, Mujuru’s camp could have reached its target of eight provinces with a chance of getting to nine if Temba Mliswa is elected in Mashonaland West, where he was said to be holding an unassailable lead.

Results  from the seven provinces where polls were held to chose provincial leaders, suggest that Mujuru loyalists won the race.

In Harare, Amos Midzi, the incumbent chairperson, thrashed his main rival and Mount Pleasant legislator, Jaison Passade with a 2604 margin to reclaim the chairmanship post.

Midzi garnered 5647 while Passade received 3011.

In the Women’s League, Angeline Matambanadzo won while in the Youth League Godfrey Gomwe won ahead of Jim Kunaka.

In Masvingo, Callisto Gwanetsa, a Mujuru loyalist, hammered his close challenger, Ailes Baloyi with a 4112 margin.

In the Women’s League, Shylet Uyoyo romped to victory.

The Youth League chairperson post went to Oliver Huruva who received 3 249 votes against 2 507 received by his closest contender.

Bulawayo incumbent chairperson, Callistus Ndlovu retained his post, beating his rival Douglas Ndlovu with a 1126 vote margin.

Ndlovu’s ex-deputy, Killen Sibanda was placed third in an election marred with voter register irregularities.

In the Women’s League, Evah Bitu won, with Khumbulani Mpofu clinching the Youth League chairperson.

Ray Kaukonde, provincial chairperson for Mashonaland East, retained his post with an emphatic victory of over 21 647 votes against his challenger, Philemon Mutongi.

Kaukonde received a total of 24 263 votes while his rival got 2616. He was the biggest winner in the provincial polls.

Aquelina Katsande was elected uncontested in the Women’s League so was Luckson Kandemiri in the Youth League. Both were uncontested.

Andrew Langa, the Sports minister,  retained his Matabeleland chairmanship after beating Lloyd Siyoka with a 4534 margin.

Alice Dube and Washington Nkomo were elected chairperson for the Women and Youth Leagues uncontested respectively.

Richard Moyo, the only winner from the faction believed to be loyal to Mnangagwa, retained his Matabeleland North chairmanship after beating his rival Reeds Dube with a 4669 margin.

Mediline Bhebhe won the Women’s League chairperson post and Tamuka Nyoni was elected the youth chairperson.

Results from Mashonaland West province were not yet in at the time of going to print amid reports Mliswa, a fierce Mujuru loyalist had all but wrapped the contest ahead of controversial businessman Philip Chiyangwa.

Comments are closed.