Hwata scoops top NRL award


HARARE – Harare Sports Club flyhalf Teddy “Boxer” Hwata was the biggest winner at the Lion Lager National Rugby League (NRL) Awards banquet held in the capital on Saturday night.

The teenage halfback capped off a wonderful personal season with HSC when he walked away with two awards.

Hwata won the Backline Player of the Year and Player of the Year gongs.

Although HSC failed to win any silverware in the just ended season, Hwata was a livewire in the Dragons backline and was deadly with his boot from the kicking tee.

Both awards were truly deserved by Hwata, who finished as the NRL’s top scorer with 230 points ahead of Old Hararians’ Tichafara Makwanya, who scored 185 points.

There were no major surprises in the other award categories as the gongs went to deserved winners.

Towering HSC lock David Makamba was named Rookie of the Year while silent assassin Matabeleland Warriors loose forward Lucky Sithole walked away with the award for Forward Player of the Year.

HSC centre Daniel Hondo was named the Most Disciplined Player. The Sables captain did not receive a single card throughout the 2013 campaign.

OH gaffer Cyprian Mandenge also won the Coach of the Year award.

Mandenge led OH to their first NRL triumph in eight years when they beat Old Georgians in the final played last month.

The Referee of the Year award went to Simba Danga, who was exceptional with the whistle during the course of the season.

Lion Lager NRL Awards winners

Coach of the Year – Cyprian Mandenga

Referee of the Year – Simba Danga

Rookie of the Year – David Makamba

Most Disciplined Player – Daniel Hondo

Forward Player of the Year – Lucky Sithole

Backline Player of the Year – Teddy Hwata

Player of the Year – Teddy Hwata

Comments are closed.