Zanu PF sets ad-hoc poll committee


HARARE – President Robert Mugabe’s Zanu PF yesterday set up an ad-hoc committee to supervise the party’s remaining seven provincial elections, after the vote was sullied by fraud allegations.

Simon Khaya-Moyo, Zanu PF national chairman, told a news conference at the party headquarters that the seven provinces will vote on November 23.

“The vice president and second secretary Joice Mujuru chairs the committee with the national chairman Simon Khaya-Moyo, secretary for administration Didymus Mutasa, and the secretary for commissariat Webster Shamu, as members,” Khaya-Moyo said.

Provincial elections are due in Harare, Bulawayo, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West,  Masvingo, Matabeleland North and Matabeleland South.

“Politburo members and members of the central committee will be deployed from the party headquarters to supervise the elections,” Khaya-Moyo said.

Provincial team leaders are ministers Ignatius Chombo,  Obert Mpofu , Dzikamai Mavhaire, Nicholas Goche, Sydney Sekeramayi, David Parirenyatwa  and politburo member Sikhanyiso Ndlovu.

He said team members and candidates would be announced in due course.

In Manicaland, John Mvundura won against Monica Mutsvangwa while Jaison Machaya prevailed over Larry Mavima in Midlands Province.

Luke Mushore beat Dick Mafios in Mashonaland Central Province.

All the three polls were characterised by ballot tampering accusations.

Comments are closed.