Sables ring in changes for Kenya clash


HARARE – Daniel Hondo has been ruled out of Tuesday’s Windhoek Draught tri-nation match against Kenya (kick-off 7pm) after suffering a concussion in the 35-26 defeat to hosts Namibia on Friday night.

The inspirational Harare Sports Club centre, who formed a formidable centre-pairing partnership with debutant Sean Moan on Friday, will now be side-lined for three weeks. 

HOLDING THE FORTE: Andrew Rose will captain the sables against Kenya in the absence of regular skipper Daniel Hondo.

Hondo’s place is taken by Old Georgians back Boyd Rouse, who had previously established himself in the side as a flyhalf. Rouse was on the bench against Namibia.

In an experimental move, Old Hararians utility back Lungile Tshuma – who was tipped to replace Hondo in midfield – makes his Sables run-on debut on the wing, relegating Stephan Hunduza to the bench.

Tshuma, a former Zimbabwe Under-20 fullback, is one of four changes to the side that lost to the Namibians on Friday.

In the forwards pack, Sables coach Brendan Dawson has made one tactical change. Kevin Nqidi was promoted to start at loose-head prop in place of the more experienced Pieter Joubert, who drops to the bench.

Meanwhile, in Hondo’s absence, flanker Andrew Rose, who came off the bench against the Namibians, will now lead the side against the continental champions tonight. 

Rose also captains Scottish Premiership side Boroughmuir Rugby Club.

Vice-captain Jacques Leitao, who would have taken Hondo’s place, has to be content with a place on the bench after suffering from illness at the weekend.

The three African giants are using the Namibian event as part of preparation for next June’s final World Cup qualification tournament in Madagascar.

The winner of next year’s crucial tournament, where hosts Madagascar will be the fourth side, will automatically qualify for the 2015 World Cup in England. 

Sables starting XV

15 – Tangai Nemadire, 14 – Gardner Nechironga, 13 – Sean Moan, 12 – Boyd Rouse, 11 – Lungile Tshuma, 10 – Lenience Tambwera, 9 – Hilton Mudariki, 8 – Kingsley Lang, 7 – Andrew Rose (capt), 6 – Fortune Chipendo, 5 – Michael Passaportis, 4 – Jan Ferreira, 3 – Nick Winwood, 2 – Keith Murray, 1 – Kevin Nqidi.

Bench: 16 – Royal Mwale, 17 – Pieter Joubert, 18 – Fidel Nyabusha, 19 – Martin Wolfenden, 20 – Jacques Leitao, 21 – Phil Machisa, 22 – Tichafara Makwanya, 23 – Stephan  Hunduza.

Comments are closed.