Sables fall to Namibia


HARARE – Namibia came from behind to beat Zimbabwe 35-26 at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek, in the opening match of the Triangular Tournament on Friday night.

Zimbabwe led 17-13 at half-time in the exciting match.

In the first half, each side scored two tries but in the second half Namibia scored three tries to nil.

Zimbabwe now tackles Kenya on Tuesday.

Namibia and Kenya play the final group match two days later with the tournament’s final slated for next week Saturday.

The Sables are using the tournament to prepare for the Confederation of African Rugby (CAR) pool 1A 2015 rugby world cup qualification matches, set for Madagascar in June and July of 2014.

Zimbabwe will play the same nations plus Madagascar during the CAR qualification matches.

The winners of the four teams in the island nation will join rugby powerhouse South Africa for the 2015 World Cup in London.


Namibia: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Sergio de la Harpe,13 Johan Tromp, 12 Darryl de la Harpe, 11 Heinrich Smit, 10 Theuns Kotzé, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 PJ van Lill (captain), 7 Tinus du Plessis, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Morné Blom, 4 Munee Tjiueza, 3 André Schlechter, 2 Rathony Bekker, 1 Jaco Engels

Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Johnny Redelinghuys, 18 Shaun du Preez, 19 Stefan Neustädt, 20 Janco Venter, 21 Eneill Buitendag, 22 Johan Deysel, 23 Justin Nel

Zimbabwe: 15 Tangai Nemadire, 14 Gardner Nechironga, 13 Sean Moan, 12 Daniel Hondo (captain),11 Stephan Hunduza, 10 Lenience Tambwera, 9 Hilton Mudariki, 8 Kingsley Lang, 7 Jacques Leitao, 6 Fortune Chipendu, 5 Michael Passaportis, 4 Jan Ferreira, 3 Nick Winwood, 2 Keith Murray , 1 Pieter Joubert

Replacements: 16 Royal Mwale, 17 Kevin Nqindi, 18 Martin Wolfenden, 19 Andrew Rose, 20 Phil Machisa, 21 Boyd Rouse, 22 Fidel Nyabusha, 23 Lungile Tshuma

Comments are closed.