Jijita, Hwata dominate shortlist for NRL Awards


HARARE – Old Georgians loose forward Farai Jijita and Harare Sports Club utility back Teddy Hwata dominate the shortlist for the Lion Lager National Rugby League (NRL) Player of the Year Awards, which will be announced at a ceremony in Harare on November 15.

Flank Jijita, a former Zimbabwe youth international, was also nominated in the Forwards of the Year category while Hwata was also nominated for the Backline Player of the Year accolade.

The pair will battle it out for the main prize of the night with lively wing Gardner Nechironga of Old Hararians.

In the Forwards of the Year category, Jijita faces competition from fellow loose forwards Lucky Sithole and Tawanda Chowe of Matabeleland Warriors and Harare Sports Club respectively.

Shortlisted for the Blackline Player of the Year alongside Hwata are Old Georgians and Sables wing Kuda Chiwanza as well as Gweru Sports Club livewire Kilvan Magunje.

Zimbabwe captain Daniel Hondo vies with former national side skipper Costa Dinha and Old Georgians player-coach Grant Mitchell for the Most Disciplined Player of the Year award.

Walter Gode of Warriors will contest the Rookie Player of the Year award with the Harare Sports Club pair of David Makamba and Josh Mutasa.

Comments are closed.