Zim Under-18 aim to end jinx


POLOKWANE – Zimbabwe schools Under-18 rugby team will be looking to carry their good form into their second game of the Coca-Cola Craven Week on Wednesday morning when they face their nemesis Limpopo Blue Bulls.

Coach Godwin ‘Jaws’ Murambiwa’s charges were in outstanding form on Monday when they put Griquas to the sword with a convincing 17-35 victory at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium.

Over the past two years, the Young Sables have, however, struggled against the Blue Bulls, who have exposed their shortcomings primarily in defence.

In 2011, Zimbabwe was massacred 81-7 in a one-sided encounter and last year, the script was the same as the Young Sables suffered another crushing 61-24 defeat.

In both defeats, the Young Sables struggled to defend around the ruck area and committed a lot of man at contact area when defending.

These elementary mistakes allowed the Limpopo side to have acres of space and a series of over laps.

Wednesday morning, Zimbabwe starts the match with the underdog tag and will be hoping to turn the tables around.

Murambiwa has rang seven changes to the side that won on Monday due to the Craven Week law that states, “all players that set on the bench in the first game all should start in the second match”.

In the front row, hooker Bart Zwart and prop Tapiwa Muringani have been relegated to the bench.

Stephen Bhasera and Tanaka Chikwezvero will start in those positions respectively.

Gleyn Rork and Tinashe Gonese will form a new lock paring. While the impressive loose trio of skipper Daniel Moolman, Nick Burnett and Ivan Bawden remains unchanged.

Their expertise on the deck will be need against a slightly heavier back.

Andrew Dollar comes in at half back for Tinashe Gwisia while center Justin Zietsman and wing Tawanda Ngosi complete the new faces in a much quicker backline.

With the speed, power and agility in this backline, the Young Sables can cause an upset if the forwards can supply them with clean ball.

Starting XV: 1. Stephen Bhasera, 2. Thabani Mujeni, 3. Tanaka Chikwezvero, 4. Glynn Rorke, 5. Tinashe Gonese, 6. Nick Burnet, 7. Daniel Moolman, (Captain). 8. Ivan Bawden, 9. Andrew Dollar, 10. Rukudzo Gonah, 11. Tawanda Ngosi, 12. Justin Zietsman, 13. Brendon Mandivenga, (vice captain) 14. Brendon Boshi, 15. Jabulani Mutukwa.

Substitutes: 16. Bart Zwart, 17. Tapiwa Muringani, 18. Takudzwa Kufazvinei, 19. Philingwezi Mundambaduki, 20.Thomas Chadwick, 21. Tinashe Gwisia, 22. Munyaradzi Mashaya.

Comments are closed.