Five vie for Zim Achievers Awards


HARARE – Five local sportspersons have been nominated for this year’s Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (Zaa) to be held in England on April 28 at Grange Tower Bridge in London.

Triathlete Chris Felgate, wheelchair tennis ace Nyasha Mharakurwa, Formula One aspirant Axcil Jeffries, top long distance runner Cuthbert Nyasango  and German-based Zimbabwean international basketball player Vitalis Chikoko have been included on the list.

 Zaa media officer Innocent Chofamba Sithole said the awards seek to recognise Zimbabweans who have exceled in different spheres of life.

“The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards is the pinnacle of celebration of talent, art, business, expression and achievement in the Zimbabwean community throughout a very broad spectrum of genre,” Sithole told the Daily News yesterday.

 The Zaa is a distinctly special awards ceremony seeking to recognise Zimbabweans who have pushed the limits against all odds to raise the country’s flag high and has become one of the most important events in the African community in the UK.

 The award presentation ceremony will also be extended to the following categories: Business of the Year, Innovation, Music, Newspaper, Television, Radio, Image, Customer Service, DJ, Event of the Year as well as Entrepreneur of the Year.

 A humanity award will also be given out to an individual who lives up to and put into practice the spirit of humanity through charitable deeds. – Blessings Mashaya

Comments are closed.