Zim name touring party for West Indies


HARARE – Zimbabwe Cricket yesterday named two squads for next month’s tour of the West Indies, naming just one player without a cap in any of the three formats.  

22-year-old Mashonaland Eagles spinner Tino Mutombodzi, who will return home after the ODIs and Twenty20 internationals, is the only player in both squads who has not been capped at international level.

However, there were also places in the teams for other relatively inexperienced players in seamer Tendai Chatara, who played one Twenty20 against India in 2010, and spinner Natsai Mushangwe, who made a single ODI appearance against New Zealand in 2011.

Mutare-born Chatara might get both his ODI and Test debuts on the tour as he features in both limited-overs and Test squads, while Mushangwe will head back home after the ODIs.

Other players expected to win their first Test caps in the Caribbean are Keegan Meth, who makes both squads, and spinner Timycen Maruma, who was only included on the Test list.

Matabeleland Tuskers batsman Sean Williams only features in the Test squad on his return to international cricket since 2011 while fit-again legspinner Graeme Cremer settles for a place in the Test squad alongside fellow spinner Ray Price.

Surprisingly, there was not place in both squads for on-the-mend Midwest Rhinos pace bowler Ed Rainsford, who looked set for a comeback after being included in the training squad late last year.  

Another casualty is opening bowler Brian Vitori, who appears to have fallen out of favour after a highly-promising start to his international career.  


Limited-overs: Brendan Taylor (captain), Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Tino Mawoyo, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Chris Mpofu, Prosper Utseya, Regis Chakabva, Malcolm Waller, Keegan Meth, Craig Ervine*, Chamu Chibhabha*, Tino Mutombodzi*, Natsai Mushangwe*.

Test: Brendan Taylor (captain), Tino Mawoyo, Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Regis Chakabva, Malcolm Waller, Kyle Jarvis, Keegan Meth, Tendai Chatara, Chris Mpofu, Prosper Utseya, Sean Williams*, Timycen Maruma*, Raymond Price*, Graeme Cremer*. – Sports Writer

*Denotes players who don’t feature in both squads.

Comments are closed.